Unanticipated appreciations

Naturally living in China has led me to miss certain things that are unavailable to me here, most notably my own baking. When I get home I am going to make bake daily until I can bake no more – starting with cinnamon streusel muffins, chocolate cake with 7-minute icing, anadama bread, and pumpkin craisin muffins. In addition, as a result of my year in Guangzhou I have discovered and/or come to appreciate some things American including Starbucks (I don’t drink coffee but I love a place to sit and do work), Coke Zero, and children’s author Kate DiCamillo. DiCamillo is definitely worth checking out. Because of Winn-Dixie is wonderful, The Tiger Rising is really just a short story featuring a 6th grader, and the Tale of Desperaux was great for reading aloud to the kids because it entertained all involved. Grandma just sent DiCamillo’s book, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, and I wish that I had finished watching Jodhaa Akhbar last night so I could read it this evening – just to make sure it will be good for the preschoolers, of course! Thanks, Grandma!

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

