Chinese Medicine

I’m not one to take medicine, and I’m certainly not one to take foreign medicine where I can’t read the ingredients label. But I have a very sore throat and the Ricola I brought from the States has not survived the Guangzhou humidity. I made the short 1-minute trek to our corner store, and the owner immediately noticed I was looking at the Halls and other throat drops. He pointed at his throat and I indicated that yes, that was the problem. He then pulled from the back of the shelf and small box of over-the-counter Chinese throat drops. He then proclaimed that they were the best, and that all others were simply terrible. I left having bought the Chinese drops and some Halls.

The Chinese Golden Throat Lozenges worked wonders on my sore throat, but they are the most terrible tasting thing I may have ever tried in my life.

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

