Lunch at the Number One Canteen

Here are a couple of clips (May 2010) of the noodle station at the number one canteen. I ate lunch there 2-3 times a week.

The last few weeks in China I borrowed a video camera from a friend so I could capture some familiar scenes. Whenever I pulled out the camera I got a lot of gawkers and created a bit of embarrassment. In general, I decided that I wanted a visual record more than I cared about intermittently embarassing people. In the first clip those of you who can speak Chinese will hear folks speculating about what I am filming for. Being a foreigner means that people do not know how much you know and understand. The ability to do whatever you want on account of real or feigned obliviousness can sometimes be a resource and in this case I used it.

This entry was posted in Food, In Guangzhou, Interculturalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

