Foreign Language Education at Union Elementary School

Those of you who have been with me for a while know that I have been planning to get the Chinese Guest Teacher Program here at Jie-jie’s elementary school. I am working with the administration on the application now. While filling out the application really isn’t such a big deal, the logistics of introducing (Chinese) language education at UES seem a bit daunting to me. Among the questions that need to be hashed out are how to integrate one Chinese teacher into a school of 411 students, how this program will fit into a larger push for foreign language instruction in the elementary school and how to create community interest in and economic support for foreign language instruction.

In other words, I’ve opened a can of worms here and I need allies. If this is going to fly beyond a year or 2 we’re going to need a good group of people committed to getting it done. I’ll be sending out a mass email to UES parents and staff. In the meantime, let me know if you want to help out.

This entry was posted in Schooling, Speaking and Learning Chinese. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

