The Lounge

Here at Copenhagen’s Kastrup Airport and enjoying the amenities in the lounge. Because the children’s lounge is beside the entrance, I find myself observing the way access to this protected elite space is controlled.

General rule: It’s not the quality of the suit you’ve got on, it’s the number of miles in your account.

And all of this has me thinking about the fact that there is a big difference between not knowing and not knowing that you don’t know. So often in my life as a world traveller and a class traveller I have experienced situations that are outside of my experience and skill set. In such settings, I attempt to figure out what I need to know to make it seem like I do that kind of thing all the time. Sometimes, however, I encounter settings in which I don’t even recognize that it is a new setting – I don’t know that I don’t know.

 

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

