Summer’s Bounty

High summer is upon us. The Central Vermont summer food scene is a dream. The area farm, Wellspring, to which we subscribe is starting to produce real bounty. Our neighbors are in Greece for a few weeks. We’re helping out by watering the gardens and picking the ripe edibles.

In other words, we have a seubstantial supply of fresh produce – zuchini, summer squash, cukes, greens, basil, tomatoes, new potatoes, snow peas, snap peas, carrots, currants, blueberries, raspberries. I am hoping to tomorrow pick enough raspberries to make a raspberry pie. If I run short, I will add some of the other berries I have at my fingertips. This evening I made roasted tomatillo, black bean and summer squash chilaquiles. Absolutely everything was from Vermont except the corn for the chips. The black beans were local. The cheese was Grafton cheddar ends and pieces available inexpensively from my grocery co-op and everything else came from our CSA.

In addition to all our fresh fruits and veggies, I have been making and drinking sun tea using Organic India’s Sweet Rose Tea.  I make it one the weaker side and unsweetened and it is so light, refreshing and delicious. The tea is one things that is decidedly not local. I really should switch to our very good local tea company. Their Celebration Love tea would probably be just the thing.

One of the things I love about being here is how small-time and local our food system is.

This entry was posted in Food, In Vermont and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

